Magnetic Spice Racks

IMG_1202

Over the past few months I’ve been CRINGING every time I have to dig through the spice cabinet for something. It got to the point where I had HAD it, and in a matter of days I remedied the problem. If you’ll notice, I couldn’t even fit all of my spices in the cabinet. It might not look so bad to you, but believe me, finding anything in there was a chore. Plus, I really didn’t have a good idea what I had or needed. *Disclaimer: the laxative is for Anna.

Here’s how I decided to tackle this one:

IMG_1214

I ordered these canisters from Amazon. This  set came with 6 canisters, the mounting plate, and some spices. Because we have A LOT of spices, I decided to get 4 of them to hang on the cabinet door to maximize space.

IMG_1216

They came with labels, but 95% of my spices weren’t listed. SOOoooo…My sweet friend Cami, remember her kitchen, let me borrow her label maker for the day. THANK YOU CAMI! I love organization so this label maker made me giddy! I have GOT to buy one of these!

IMG_1218

Here’s where things got a little iffy. The magnetic plate came with mounting strips, and it had holes for screws. I knew I didn’t want to screw into my cabinet door because #1: it is so thin, and #2 I didn’t want to put holes in the door (which is laughable compared to what I actually did.) I decided to give just the mounting strips a try, but ultimately they failed me. One by one all the spice racks fell down. “NO!”

Enter SUPER GLUE!

IMG_1224

I’m actually going to give Mike the credit for this one. I was trying to figure out the best way to get these spices to stay up without damaging the door. After bouncing a few ideas off of him, he mentioned super glue. Never hurts to try!

IMG_1227

Super glue did the trick!

IMG_1230


 Everyone knows that super glue is really runny, so we decided to take the door off while gluing the magnetic plate. I added a liberal amount of glue to each one and pressed on it until it dried a little. Maybe about 20 seconds each plate. It wasn’t long. Then I let it dry over night before hanging it back up and adding the canisters.

IMG_1236

Voila!!! Organization makes me so happy!

IMG_1241

To take the interior organization to the next level I added these spice rack tiers so I could actually see what was in there. I swiped the box for the ramen noodles for the “extra spices”. Storage/organization doesn’t always have to be pretty 😉 Now I have no excuse not to cook! Crap…maybe I should have left it a mess.

Kitchen2I love the way it turned out.

Time to find some new recipes!

*Tomorrow I’ll be sharing some other storage solutions that were contenders for this project. Stay tuned…

18 thoughts on “Magnetic Spice Racks

  1. Kristy says:

    I used a brand new small cookie sheet, to store my spice tins on.
    I took Velcro strips to the bottom of the small cookie sheet and to the side of the fridge on the stove side.
    I LOVE the brackets tho, ty for this info!! 😍

    Like

Leave a comment