What I’ve learned about painting stripes.

Remember these stripes I did in Wyatt’s Room?

IMG_0296

Well, they weren’t the first stripes I’ve ever painted on a wall. About a year ago I painted stripes throughout my entire master bath. They turned out perfectly (I can’t wait to show you!) so I figured I’d just follow the same steps I did in there for Wyatt’s room.

IMG_0161

Well…you don’t have to look too hard to see the stripes were a mess!. The process didn’t really work out as planned. I was so upset because it worked perfectly in my bathroom. How could this project be so different?

First let me tell you the steps I used for my bathroom.

IMG_0152

Step 1: use a laser level and tape off all your stripes in their desired spot.

Step 2: paint over the edge of the tape that borders the stripe with the EXISTING wall color. NOT the color you’ll be painting the stripe.

Step 3: once the paint from step 2 is dry, paint your stripe.

Step 4: peal off the tape while the paint is still damp.

Step 5: touch ups. *Even though this process worked so well in my bathroom, I still had a few areas to touch up. I’d say about 98% of the lines were perfect though.

Here’s my theory on why Wyatt’s stripes didn’t work and mine did even though we used the same process, and the walls have similar texture. The paint we used in Wyatt’s room was Clark and Kensington from Ace hardware. It’s great paint, covers well, it’s just thin. I used Dunn Edwards paint in my bathroom. Also great paint, but more on the thick side. Also, the brush we used in Wyatt’s room didn’t put the paint on very thick. I think the combination of thin paint, and a brush that didn’t pile on the paint, made it so the edge of tape didn’t seal enough to prevent bleeding.

Because the initial stripes I put in Wyatt’s room were such a disaster I decided to take a completely different approach with the next set.IMG_0154

IMG_0160I purchased Frog Tape, which I’ve heard nothing but good things about. It came with this liquid paint block which was ideal for this project. I thought to myself, “this is my ticket to perfect stripes! For sure this is gonna do the trick. How could it not?” I followed all the directions and was anxious to pull the tape off.

IMG_0161

Womp, womp…Look at those horrible stripes! I honestly have no idea why it didn’t work, but lucky me I got to spend hours touching up stripes. Yay…NOT!

Now that we have all of my “disaster stripe” stories out of the way. Let me give you a serious success story, and a sneak peak into my current project.

IMG_0357

Because of all the stripe drama in Wyatt’s room, I took this next painting project serious. I asked around, I researched, and this is what I decided to try. I purchased this indoor/outdoor paintable CLEAR caulk (make sure it’s clear) at Lowe’s for about $3.00 a tube. *For this project we went through 2 tubes.

IMG_0362

All I did was simple squeeze a line of caulk close to the edge of the tape. Honestly I did this really fast and wasn’t concerned about getting it perfect because of my next step.

IMG_0363

Next I rubbed the caulk along the edge of the tape with my finger making sure I covered the edge completely. The caulk goes on white but dries perfectly clear. You don’t want to use white caulk because once you peal your tape off, you’ll end up with white line in between your stripes/design.

Once all the tape was covered, I let the caulk dry for about 15 minutes before painting. Like before, we pealed the tape off while the paint was still damp.

IMG_0369

Look at those lines!! Close to perfection. There are a few minor touch ups but that was expected. If you’re wondering: YES, this is your sneak peak at my current project. It’s turning out amazing!

The moral of the story? Use clear painters caulk to seal the edge of your tape before painting. Lesson learned!

2 thoughts on “What I’ve learned about painting stripes.

  1. Shantell Hinton says:

    2 questions: When you taped off the project did you use the frog tape? Is the frog tape a good tape or was that part of the culprit for the stripe fiasco? 2nd question (and it is probably SO DUMB and I think I know the answer but want to make sure) did you still paint the existing wall paint color over the clear caulk? Love the blog and can’t wait to see more!!! You are going to turn me into a handy woman before you know it

    Like

    • Thanks Shantell! Personally, I haven’t had good results with Frog Tape, but I’m sure others would say differently. So yes, the Frog Tape was part of the problem. No, I did not paint the existing wall color over the caulk. You simply let the caulk dry a little, then paint the other color over it. Hope that helps!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

