A Gallery Wall for the Hall

IMG_0199

 

Since I finishing the picture frame moulding in the hall, the wall above it looked so sad and lonely. I knew it would be a perfect spot for a gallery wall. Planning and executing a gallery wall can be tricky. There are SO many options, and if you’re like me, you absolutely MUST try every option before you decide which is the best one. Well, how do you do that without making a hundred holes in your wall, and making your husband curse why he ever let you touch a hammer?

EASY!

IMG_5160Step 1:

find a large piece of paper. Butcher paper, a bunch of papers taped together, poster board, wrapping paper…Really anything you can write on that will span the distance of your gallery wall. I actually used the back side of some wrapping paper. Once you’ve found your paper, place all your items on the paper EXACTLY how you want them. (You see where I’m going with this…right?)

IMG_5162

Step 2:

Trace around each item.

IMG_5165

Step 3:

Tape your paper to the wall making sure it’s level. Once you’ve measured the hooks on your items, mark the paper where you need to add nails/screws. Once you’ve added all your fasteners, remove the paper.

*Notice how my paper wasn’t long enough? It was long enough to at least place part of the items on. That’s all you need. As long as you have a starting point to measure where each hook is, you’re golden.

IMG_0178

Step 4:

Hang your items and stand back to admire your work.

EASY RIGHT?

If you’ll notice, my final layout isn’t the one I started with. I’m fickle I guess. Something just wasn’t right with my first attempt, so I followed the same steps and tweaked it to suit my liking.

IMG_0185

Part of that tweaking was adding this adorable arrow. I love it! It’s made by the very talented Jen Daniel out of reclaimed wood. You absolutely need to check out her facebook page”Vintage Ruffle” and see her amazing products!

IMG_0181

IMG_0187

Just for fun here’s a little before and after:

blog photos4

See where this post likes to party.

8 thoughts on “A Gallery Wall for the Hall

  1. Marty@A Stroll Thru Life says:

    I love your picture frame molding and the gallery wall is fabulous. So pretty. Thanks tons for linking to Inspire Me.

    Like

  2. I love the molding you applied as well as the way in which you arranged the objects in your gallery wall. I love to do wall groupings and really appreciated your tips. Great post…thanks!
    Cheryl

    Like

  3. I hang my pictures very similar to this but I cut out each individual size and mark the where I need to make holes. This would be easier if you know exactly where you want your pictures placed. Thanks of sharing on Merry Monday.

    Like

  4. I like how it turned out! Thank you for sharing this post at City of Creative Dream’s City of Links on Friday! I appreciate you taking the time to party with me. Hope to see you again this week 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

