Ellie gets the credit for this one.

Everyone take a good look at this cute, loveable, funny, sweet mischievous, little girl.

IMG_0868

She seems harmless, right? Think again! Yesterday my little Ellie attempted to follow me into the garage. I was only going out there for 1 second to grab some bags out of the car. Every time I let her out with me she ends up running down the street, or doing something equally obnoxious. I decided, “Ellie, you can sit inside for literally 1 second unattended while I get this stuff out of the car”. You see where this is going don’t you…

IMG_1013

In an attempt to open the door and follow me, SHE LOCKED ME OUT! She twisted the lock on the door knob and I COULD NOT get her to twist it back. Of course I had already placed my keys and my phone in the house. Not that the keys would have done any good. The other 2 doors have door guard locks on them, and we don’t even own a key for the door that enters from the garage. I was racking my brain to figure out how I could get in. Long story short I happened across an unlocked window, and 45 minutes later I was in. (Thank you Melissa for helping). Once I got inside I realized we needed to do something about this door. Hello! We don’t even have a key for it.
IMG_1010I decided my best defense against getting locked out again was to install a keypad lock system for the deadbolt and to add a hallway doorknob WITHOUT a lock at all. I went with this keypad lock because of price. There are others out there that are less bulky, but this door leads from the laundry room into the garage. I was okay with it being a little bulkier. I simply followed the instructions and 20 minutes later we were good to go. Sometimes it’s as simple as that.

So, thanks to a certain little Miss, we have an upgraded lock and a fool proof way to NOT get locked out of the house. Aren’t 2 year olds fun?

Leave a Reply

