Labels, labels, labels…

If you didn’t already notice, I took a little blog hiatus. I had a VERY good reason though. We took a family vacation to San Diego and it was wonderful! After spending the week doing…
IMG_0665IMG_0675IMG_0659IMG_0763IMG_0597IMG_0706 IMG_0616

…this. I’m happy to say I’m back, and excited to show you one of the easiest projects I’ve ever done.

CHALKBOARD LABELS

IMG_0539

Being the organization/clean freak that I am, I love a good label, and if said label is attractive…well, even better!


IMG_0526IMG_0534

I’d say about a year ago I got a wild hair and painted my once shiny, red canisters the white and blue that they are now. I wouldn’t recommend painting canisters if you’re going to actually use them. In this case, they sit on top of the cabinets so durability wasn’t a factor. After painting them I realized they were missing something. My cute friend Ashley bought these cute labels for her kitchen canisters and had a few left over. She was sweet enough to donate them to my cause.

IMG_0525

Using a chalk board marker (I found mine at Hobby Lobby, but I’ve seen them popping up almost everywhere) I simply wrote on the labels. I’m a perfectionist, and my handwriting is horrible, so I have a trick. First I practice, tweak, practice, tweak… on a paper. Once I have an idea of what I want the word to look like I draw it on the label using a colored pencil. A regular pencil is too hard to see, and a pen is hard to remove if you mess up. Colored pencil washes right off if you need to start over (I did…3 times). Once you’ve drawn on your label with a colored pencil you’re ready to trace over it with the chalk marker, and yes, it is truly a CHALK marker. It washes right off with a little windex.

IMG_0541IMG_0538

IMG_0550

IMG_0535

IMG_0539

Kitchen

I love how sometimes it’s the smallest details that can make such a difference. Those canisters have been sitting up there for months with empty labels. Why? I guess I just never got around to it. I’m so happy I finally did!

*I have one more easy, no brainer, tip for you:

IMG_0532

Did you notice in any of the above pictures that all of my decor is sitting on boxes? A few years ago for Christmas I asked my old man to add crown moulding to the top of my cabinets. Being the awesome Dad that he is, my wish was granted. Once the crown was up all of the decor items sat to low on the cabinets, so…I went scavenging through the pantry for boxes. Every item is sitting on a box found in my pantry. Like I said, it’s a no brainer, but a great tip none the less.

See where this post parties:

4 thoughts on “Labels, labels, labels…

  1. This looks fantastic! Thank you for sharing this post at City of Creative Dream’s City of Links on Friday! I appreciate you taking the time to party with me. Hope to see you again this week 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

