Easy Furniture Refresh

Recently I helped my friend Dawn redecorate her son’s room. It was a blast, and it turned out amazing! If you missed it look here. When we started the project we had to assess what we could use, what we needed to buy, and what we could save. Dawn wasn’t a fan of this little night stand, but I knew it had more life left in it.
IMG_0209

Using my favorite tool, the Mouse Sander, and some 80 grit sand paper (which is ideal for stripping), I gave the whole piece a nice sanding.

IMG_0210

The idea is to take off the poly so the new finish will adhere. I also gave some extra attention to any dents or scratches to try and get the smoothest finish as possible. Because I was using such coarse sandpaper, it only took about 5 minutes to get to this point.

IMG_0211

Once everything was sanded, I switched out the sandpaper for a finer grit and gave the whole thing one more quick sanding. Just until it felt smooth.

IMG_0212

After that I gave it 2 coats of semi-gloss paint using a paint brush, and…voila! Easy as that!

blog photos8

There are a lot of ways to refinish furniture, but for me, this has proven to be my go to. No crazy stripper, no poly, no wax… just a light sanding and some good old semi-gloss paint. I can’t wait to show you some of the other fun pieces I’ve finished using these simple steps! As always, STAY TUNED!

See where this post parties:

6 thoughts on “Easy Furniture Refresh

  1. I love this so much! I just finished my kitchen table using your method ~ simple but gorgeous resluts! Sounds like a fun day with your friend! Thanks for sharing with us at Merry Monday Linky! Julia

    Like

  2. Defiantly love this transformation! Thank you for sharing this post at City of Creative Dream’s City of Links on Friday! I appreciate you taking the time to party with me. Hope to see you again this week 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

