DIY Clothespin Picture Frame Display

With school being just around the corner, or in the beginning stages for some of you, I’ve been spending more and more time thinking about things we need to have ready. My little Anna is starting Kindergarten, and being my oldest, this Mom is a little anxious. I’ve been thinking about clothes, supplies, school lunch…all of those things. With both of my girls being so young, and me being the clean freak that I am, I’m also thinking about all the fun little things Anna will bring home, and where we’re going to put it all. Lucky for us, we have the perfect spot for all of those scribbles art projects, and of course those assignments that deserve bragging rights. We have a DIY clothespin picture frame display made by yours truly.

IMG_0789

Here’s how I made it:

This is so incredibly easy!

IMG_0797First off I found a frame, and a giant frame at that. It measures 41″ x 53″. You can see how big it is next to Anna in the above picture. I found it on a local facebook group where you can buy/sell items. I paid $10 for it.  It wasn’t exactly beautiful when I picked it up, but spray paint can work magic.

IMG_0806

Once it was painted, I measured where I wanted my ribbons to go, and stapled them in place using a staple gun. First I added all the horizontal ribbons. Then  I weaved the vertical ribbons in and out of the horizontal ones to complete the grid pattern.

IMG_0799

The frame came with a hanging wire on the back, but I had to remove it because you could see it with my open grid pattern. You can buy hooks almost anywhere that can easily be fastened onto most things. This particular day I was out. I simply bent some wire and stapled it on.  SO easy!! Once it was up I simply hung all the pictures with clothespins.

IMG_0787

One of my favorite things about this display is where it lives. It’s just off the kitchen behind the small wall at the end of our island. You can definitely see it, but it’s somewhat tucked away so it doesn’t take over the space.
IMG_0785

If you don’t have little kids, or if you don’t have kids, you could definitely use this same concept with a different function. It would make a great message/memo board, recipe board, photo display…it even looks kind of cool on the wall with nothing on it.

Have a great school year everyone!

See where this post parties:

3 thoughts on “DIY Clothespin Picture Frame Display

  1. Very cute and creative idea! Thank you for sharing this post at City of Creative Dream’s City of Links on Friday! I appreciate you taking the time to party with me. Hope to see you again this week 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment