Let’s talk about Anna’s bench one more time. Shall we?

IMG_1431After Anna’s window bench was built, it was time to dress it with a cushion and some adorable pillows.

(See the bench tutorial here, and see where I purchased everything for Anna’s room here.)

For the cushion I bought some 2 1/2 inch foam from JoAnn’s so the bench would be nice and comfy. That stuff is pricy so make sure you have a coupon, and be ready to “splurge”. I covered it with a simple linen. The cute ladies at JoAnn’s cut the foam with an electric carving knife, but since I don’t have one of those, I used my fabric scissors (probably did some serious damage to them in the process. Time will tell.). Once the foam was cut into shape, I cut 2 pieces of fabric 1/2″ wider than the foam all the way around to allow for the seams. I also cut a 3″ strip (1/2″ extra for the seams) to go around the edge of the cushion. I essentially sewed it like a pillow case. If you only have a basic knowledge of sewing don’t worry! You could sew this. Straight lines the whole way!

IMG_1415Even though everything was measured perfectly, the linen seemed really loose and wrinkly. I decided to add some buttons to make it tufted (Ellie has since pulled off 3 buttons!!! Kids!!).

IMG_1416

I bought these buttons at JoAnn’s and covered then with some scrap fabric.

IMG_1418

I decided where I wanted each button to be and placed a pin there so I didn’t have to measure 100 times.

IMG_1419To add strength to the tufting, I first placed multiple stitches at each marked spot. I made sure to pull it as tightly as possible. I actually used crochet thread because I was worried regular thread couldn’t handle the job. Once that was done, I sewed the buttons in place.

IMG_1422Voila! Just like that, a tufted bench cushion was born. I added those adorable pillows, and we’ve been ooing and awwing over that bench ever since. I still haven’t figured out the window dressing in there. Still working on that one…I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

